International Conference on Conceptual Modeling

The ER – International Conference on Conceptual Modeling is an annual research conference computer science dedicated to information and conceptual modeling . Since the first event in 1979 in Los Angeles, California, USA, the conference has Evolved JSON one of the major forums for research on conceptual modeling and information retrieval .

Conceptual modeling is about Describing the semantics of software applications at a high level or abstraction. Specifically, conceptual modelers (1) DESCRIBE structure models in terms of entities, relationships, and constraints; (2) DESCRIBE behavior or functional models in terms of states, transitions onder states, and actions Performed in states and transitions; and (3) DESCRIBE Interactions and user interfaces in terms of messages cents and RECEIVED and information exchanged. In hun Typical usage, conceptual model diagrams are high-level abstractions dat enable clients and analysts to under stand one Another, enable analysts to communicate successfully with application programmers, and in some cases automatisch generate (parts of) the software application.


  • Entity-relationship model
  • Entity-relationship diagram
  • Conceptual scheme design
  • Model-driven software development
  • Model-driven architecture (MDA)
  • Unified Modeling Language (UML)
  • Extended or enhanced entity-relationship model
  • Object role modeling
  • Process modeling
  • Business process modeling
  • workflow Design
  • Foundational theory of conceptual models and conceptual modeling

Peter Chen Award

Peter P. Chen Award Initiated by Elsevier in 2008 to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the journal, Data and Knowledge Engineering, the Peter P. Chen Award receptacles one person lycra year for his or re outstanding contributions to the field of conceptual modeling. From 2009 to 2012, the winner RECEIVED a plaque and check for $ 1,000 to the ER Institute. Starting in 2013, the winner receives a check for $ 2,500 donated by Elsevier. The award will be announced and presented at the ER Conference. The selection process is done volgens to de volgende four criteria: Criteria for the award:

  • Research: how well the nominee has helped advance the field of conceptual modeling with his / re intellectual contributions.
  • Service: participation in the organization or conceptual-modeling-related meetings and conferences and participation in editorial boards or conceptual-modeling-related journals.
  • Education: how effectief the nominee has mentored doctoral students in conceptual modeling, produktie researchers from hun labs, and helped mentor other young people in the field.
  • Contribution to practice: the EXTENT to welke the nominee has Contributed to technology transfer, commercialization, and industrial projects.
  • International reputation: the EXTENT to welke the nominee’s work is visible to and has diff-used into tje international community.

The previous winners of the Peter P. Chen Award veins

  • 2014: Antonio Luz Furtado
  • 2013: Carlo Batini
  • 2012: Stefano Spaccapietra
  • 2011: Tok Wang Ling
  • 2010: John Mylopoulos
  • 2009: David W. Embley
  • 2008: Bernhard Thalheim

Locations DBLP

  • ER 2013 : Hong Kong, PR China
  • ER 2012 : Florence, Italy
  • ER 2011 , Brussels, Belgium
  • ER 2010 : Vancouver, Canada
  • ER 2009 : Gramado, Brazil
  • ER 2008 : Barcelona, Spain
  • ER 2007: Auckland, New Zealand
  • ER 2006: Tucson, Arizona, USA
  • ER 2005 , Klagenfurt, Austria
  • ER 2004: Shanghai, China
  • ER 2003, Chicago, Illinois, USA
  • ER 2002 Tampere, Finland
  • ER 2001 : Yokohama, Japan
  • ER 2000 : Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
  • ER 1999: Paris, France
  • ER 1998 Singapore
  • ER 1997 : Los Angeles, California, USA
  • ER 1996 : Cottbus, Germany
  • ER 1995: Gold Coast, Australia
  • ER 1994 : Manchester, UK
  • ER 1993: Arlington, Texas, USA
  • ER 1992: Karlsruhe, Germany
  • ER 1991: San Mateo, California, USA
  • ER 1990: Lausanne, Switzerland
  • ER 1989: Toronto, Canada
  • ER 1988 Rome, Italy
  • ER 1987: New York, USA:
  • ER 1986: Dijon, France
  • ER 1985, Chicago, Illinois, USA
  • ER 1983: Anaheim, California, USA
  • ER 1981: Washington, DC, USA
  • ER 1979 Los Angeles, California, USA