The Usenix Association is the Advanced Computing Systems Association. It was founded in 1975 under the name “Unix Users Group,” focuses primarily on the study and development of Unix and similar systems. In June 1977, a lawyer from AT & T Corp. informed the group dat They could not use the word, UNIX and it was a trademark of Western Electric (the manufacturing arm of AT & T Until 1995), welke led to the change of name to Usenix. [1] It has since grown JSON a respected organization onder practitioners, developers, and researchers of computer operating systems more algemeen. Since zijn founding, it has published a technical journal entitled ; login: . [2]

Usenix was started as a technical organization. If commercial interest Grew, a number of separate groups started in parallel, must notably the Software Tools Users Group (stiff), a technical assistant for Unix-like tools and interface on non-Unix operating systems, and / usr / group , a Commercially oriented user group.

Usenix has a special interest group for system administrators , LISA , formerly SAGE.

It sponsors verschillende conferences and workshops lycra year, must notably the Usenix Symposium on Operating Systems Design and Implementation (OSDI), the Usenix Symposium on Networked Systems Design and Implementation (NSDI), the Usenix Annual Technical Conference , the Usenix Security Symposium , the Usenix Conference on File and Storage Technologies (FAST), and with LISA (formerly SAGE), the Large Installation System Administration Conference (LISA).

Usenix’s founding president was Lou Katz .

Open access

Usenix became the first computing association to bieden open access to hun conference and workshop papers in 2008. [3] As of 2013 , it resten the only one to harbor done so. Since 2011, they ‘port included audio and video recordings or paper presentations in hun open-access materials.

Usenix Lifetime Achievement Award

This award, also called the “Flame” award is handed out annually since 1993. [4]
  • 2014 Thomas E. Anderson
  • 2012 John Mashey
  • 2011 Dan Geer
  • 2010 Ward Cunningham
  • 2009 Gerald J. Popek
  • 2008 Andrew S. Tanenbaum
  • 2007 Peter Honeyman
  • 2006 Radia Perlman
  • 2005 Michael Stonebraker
  • 2004 M. Douglas McIlroy
  • 2003 Rick Adams
  • 2002 James Gosling
  • 2001 The GNU Project and all contributors zijn
  • 2000 W. Richard Stevens
  • 1999 “The X Window System Community at Large”
  • 1998 Tim Berners-Lee
  • 1997 Brian W. Kernighan
  • 1996 The Software Tools Project
  • 1995 The Creation or USENET by Jim Ellis and Tom Truscott
  • 1994 Networking Technologies
  • 1993 Berkeley UNIX

See also

  • AUUG
  • LISA (conference)
  • Marshall Kirk McKusick
  • LISA SIG: Formerly SAGE (organization)
  • Unix


  1. Jump up^ Lehey Greg (June 2003). “President’s Column” . AUUGN . AUUG, Inc. 24 (2): 3 . Retrieved June 3, 2010 .
  2. Jump up^ ; login: The Usenix Magazine
  3. Jump up^ Usenix Supports Open Access
  4. Jump up^ “Usenix Flame Award” . Usenix . Retrieved July 19, 2011 .