OOPSLA – Object-Oriented Programming , Systems, Languages & Applications

OOPSLA ( Object-Oriented Programming , Systems, Languages & Applications) is an annual ACM research conference. OOPSLA Mainly takes place in theUnited States , while the sister conference or OOPSLA, ECOOP is Typically held in Europe. It is operated by the Special Interest Group for Programming Languages ( SIGPLAN ) group of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

OOPSLA is an annual conference covering topics related to object-oriented programming systems, languages ​​and applications. Like other conferences OOPSLA offerings verschillende tracks and many simultaneous sessions, and THUS has a différent meaning to différent people. It is an academic conference, and draws doctoral students who present peer-reviewed papers. It’ll be draws a number of non-academic ATTENDEES, many of Whom present experience reports and conduct panels, workshops and tutorials.

OOPSLA has leg instrumental in helping in object-oriented programming developement JSON a mainstream programming paradigm. It has ook helped incubate a number of related topics, zoals design patterns , refactoring , aspect-oriented programming , model-driven engineering , agile software development , and domain specific languages .

The first OOPSLA conference was held in Portland, Oregon in 1986. As of 2010, OOPSLA became a part of the SPLASH conference. The website states that ‘SPLASH is not just a new name for our favorite conference-SPLASH has a new charter and mission: To bring together practitioners and researchers who are passionate about software, programming, design, and software engineering to explore the frontiers of software and software practice. ” [1] SPLASH stands for Systems, Programming, Languages, and Applications: Software for Humanity. OOPSLA will be a premiere research conference for technical papers and presentations binnen SPLASH. This change was intended to serve as a framework for organizing and streamlining policymaking so dat topics dat mention anything Traditionally be presented at OOPSLA Maintain hun focus while allowing other conferences (within SPLASH) to highlight new trends and challenges in the world of software.

Locations and organizers

Year Location Conference Chair Program Chair
2016 Amsterdam, Netherlands Eelco Visser Yannis Smaragdakis
2015 Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA Jonathan Aldrich Patrick Eugster
2014 Portland, Oregon , USA Andrew Black Todd Millstein
2013 Indianapolis, Indiana , USA Antony Hosking, Patrick Eugster Cristina V. Lopes
2012 Tucson, Arizona , USA Gary T. Leavens Matt Dwyer
2011 Portland, Oregon , USA Cristina V. Lopes Kathleen S. Fisher
2010 Reno, Nevada , USA William R. Cook Martin Rinard
2009 Orlando , Florida , USA Shail Arora Gary T. Leavens
2008 Nashville , Tennessee , USA Gail E. Harris Gregor Kiczales
2007 Montreal , Quebec , Canada Richard P. Gabriel David Bacon
2006 Portland , Oregon , USA Peri Tarr William R. Cook
2005 San Diego , California , USA Ralph Johnson Richard P. Gabriel
2004 Vancouver , British Columbia , Canada John Vlissides Doug Schmidt
2003 Anaheim , California , USA Ron Crocker Guy L. Steele, Jr.
2002 Seattle , Washington , USA Mamdouh Ibrahim Satoshi Matsuoka
2001 Tampa Bay , Florida , USA Linda Northrop John Vlissides
2000 Minneapolis , Minnesota , USA Mary Beth Rosson Doug Lea
1999 Denver , Colorado , USA Brent Hailpern Linda Northrop
1998 Vancouver , British Columbia , Canada Bjorn Freeman-Benson Craig Chambers
1997 Atlanta , Georgia , USA Mary Loomis Toby Bloom
1996 San Jose , California , USA Lougie Anderson James Coplien
1995 Austin , Texas , USA Rebecca J. Wirfs-Brock Mary Loomis
1994 Portland , Oregon , USA Jeff McKenna J. Eliot B. Moss
1993 Washington, DC , USA Timlynn Babitsky and Jim Salmons Ralph Johnson
1992 Vancouver , British Columbia , Canada John Pugh Rebecca J. Wirfs-Brock
1991 Phoenix , Arizona , USA John Richards Alan Snyder
1990 Ottawa , Ontario , Canada (co-located with ECOOP ) David Thomas and Pierre Cointe Akinori Yonezawa
1989 New Orleans , Louisiana , USA George Bosworth Kent Beck
1988 San Diego , California , USA Alan Otis and Larry Tesler Kurt Shmucker
1987 Orlando , Florida , USA Adele Goldberg and Chet Wisinski Jerry L. Archibald
1986 Portland , Oregon , USA Daniel G. Bobrow and Alan Purdy Daniel Ingalls