Raul Midon

Raul Midon (born March 14, 1966) is a singer-songwriter and guitarist from New Mexico , based in New York City .


Early life

Midon was born prematurely in a rural hospital in Embudo , New Mexico , to parents or Argentine and African American descent. His Father was a folkloric dancer from Argentina . Midon and his twin brother Marco (now a NASA engineer) ulcers Blinded as infants after spending time in an incubator without adequate eye protection. The sounds of music became integral to Midon’s life around age 4, als his Father introduced im to the drum. Midon learned how to play the guitar while performing in rigorous educational programs, first at a school for the blind and-then at a Santa Fe academy while completing his last two years of high school. Midon-then attended the University of Miami , welke have selected voor zijn jazz curriculum. He graduated from the University of Miami in 1990. In 2008 he PURCHASED a home in Maryland and Currently resides there.


Midon Began his career as a session singer for numerous Latin recording artists waaronder Shakira , Alejandro Sanz, Julio Iglesias and Jose Feliciano . After touring with Shakira, have set aside this career to Pursue a solo career and moved to New York City . In New York City he worked with producer and DJ Little Louie Vega. He wrote and Recorded verschillende songs waaronder “Cerca De Mi” with Louie and his production team under the band name “Elements of Life.” Elements of Life, led by Louie Vega toured Europe, Japan and Australia in 2003/2004.

Midon was signed by Arif Mardin to Manhattan Records . In Mardin’s long career, Midon was his first signing of an artist. Mardin, Along with his sun, Joe , produktie the critically acclaimed or Midon’s debut album, State of Mind . [1]

Midon ook did the song for the end credits Spike Lee’s 2004 LGBT film, She Hate Me , Titled “Adam n ‘Eve n’ Eve”. His song “Everybody” was featured in the soundtrack of the movie The Peaceful Warrio starring Nick Nolte.

Midon’s album State of Mind was released on May 10, 2005. The album features a guest performance from Stevie Wonder , one of his idols, Another One with Jason Mraz , and a song written in tribute to Donny Hathaway entitled Sittin ‘In The Middle. Midon is an avid amateur radio enthusiast, [2] and in this song he’ll be incorporates his call sign (KB5ZOT) using Morse code . [3] The title track was released on 12 September 2006 as the free single of the week on the UK version of the iTunes Music Store .

Midon’s national television debut was on Late Show with David Letterman on June 28, 2005. He later went on ACM Press on other late night television shows in the US and organs. Herbie Hancock ‘ll be featured Raul Midon on his compilation album ” Possibilities ” In this housing was released in 2006, performing Stevie Wonder’s I Just Called to Say I Love You . On July 24, 2007, a single named “Pick Somebody Up” was released on the iTunes Store in the new iTunes Plus format. Midon released the album “A World Within A World” on September 25, 2007.

In 2008 he built a home studio with the help of Cakewalk and a company called Dancing Dots who design technology specifiek for use by the blind. This has enabled Raul to successfully produce tracks from his home without the aid of a sighted engineer. His song “Everyone Deserves A Second Chance” Appearing on Cuban pianist Roberto Fonseca ‘s album Akokan was Recorded at his home. He’ll be Recorded two songs for the “Generosity Water” project at his home studio welke he calls “The Basement Studio.”

He was featured in the 2009 film Still Bill . In March 2009, Midon Began working with Grammy Award winning producer, Larry Klein on his latest album “Synthesis” for the Universal Decca Label, welke was released April 13, 2010. He temporarily Relocated to Santa Monica and worked closely linked with Klein on the overall tenor of the album. The album features Midon together with music industry Veterans Vinnie Colaiuta , Dean Parks , Jamie Muhoberac , Larry Golding , and Paulinho Da Costa Along with Klein on bass.

In 2012 Raul Recorded two nights at Joe’s Pub or The Public Theater of his live performance welke was edited down to the album and DVD entitled “Live From NYC Invisible Chains.” The album was sold and licensed independently around the globe in Europe and Japan and sold live at shows.

Midon has spent two years writing, recording and Producing his album “Do not Hesitate” in his home studio based on Sonar / Cakewalk / Dancing Dots, released in September 2014. This album was picked up at Mack Avenue / Artistry Records. The album is a 14 song collection and features guest appearances with Lizz Wright, Grammy Award Winner Dianne Reeves, worldwide bass legends, Marcus Miller and Richard Bona . Also, have COMPLETED the tune “Mi Amigo cubano” co-written with Bill Withers that was germinated in the film Still Bill , welke was premiered in August 2014 online with USA Today.

On 27 March 2015 he Performed in Leiden . On this occasion, he sang the world premiere of a new song, “I’m your sound shadow “. [4]

In 2015, Midon joined The 14th annual Independent Music Awards judging panel to assist independent musicians’ careers. He was ook a judge for the 12th and 13th Independent Music Awards .



  • Gracias a la vida (1999), BMG MUSIC [5]
  • Blind To Reality (2001), self-released album
  • Raul Midon Live EP (2003), self-released album
  • State of Mind (2005), Manhattan Records
  • A World Within a World (2007), Manhattan Records EMI
  • Synthesis (2010), Universal Decca
  • Invisible chains, Live from NYC (2012), self-released album
  • Do not Hesitate (2014), Artistry Music


  • “Suddenly” Appears on the compilation He Sings The Blues (2005)
  • “State of Mind” Appears on the compilation Blue Note Trip 5: Mashed (Jazzanova) (2006)
  • “Pick Somebody Up” Appears on the official album or 15th International Istanbul Jazz Festival (2008)


  1. Jump up^ “JAZZ SOUL Gets SLAP HAPPY. Raul Midon’s attention-grabbing styles Trumpets the arrival of a major new talent”. New York Daily News , May 29, 2005.
  2. Jump up^ [1]
  3. Jump up^ KB5ZOT in morse code (with sound)
  4. Jump up^ Tube, Paul (29 March 2015). “Raul Midon in Leiden 27-03-2015” . YouTube . YouTube . Retrieved 29 March 2015 .
  5. Jump up^ http://www.artistdirect.com/nad/store/artist/album/0,,379295,00.html(Discography on the Artist Direct website)